The UAA-Youth Section joined hands with the Asian School of Urology (ASU) and the Chinese Young Urologists Association (CUA) to host a joint full-day program for the UAA Congress in Shanghai on 6th September, 2015. For this program, 54 applications were received from young urologists of member associations for the award of a travel grant and 32 fellows were selected from 17 member associations. The fellows were provided free registration and accommodation for attending the UAA congress and were provided a travel grant of US$300.

The full day program combined lectures, panels and interactive sessions with young urologists as speakers, panelists and presenters.

ASU, UAA Youth Section, CUA Young Urologists Section Program
UAA Congress 2015, Shanghai
6th September, 2015
0830-1000 Session 1
0830-0845 Welcome address: Yinghao Sun
0845-0900 Welcome address: Jalil Hosseini
0900-0915 You-Future Urological Leaders in Asia: Allen Chiu
0915-0945 Management of prostate cancer-view from Evidence-Balanced-Medicine, EBM : Shin Egawa
0945-1000 Laparoscopy: essentials for starting on your own: Rajeev Kumar
1000-1030 Tea Break
1030-1130 Session 2: Clinical decision making: what would you do
Moderator: Peggy Chu
Panelists: Poongkodi Nagappan, Brusabhanu Nayak, Sopheap Bou, Imran Memon
1130-1230 Session 3 : CUA Young Urologist Session
1130-1200 Session 3A: Moderator: Yaoguang Zhang, Shuqi Du
The development and clinical research of Sun's tip flexible semi-rigid ureterorenoscope: Yonghan Peng
Comparing zero ischemia laparoscopic radiofrequency ablation assisted tumor enucleation and laparoscopic partial nephrectomy for Clinical T1a renal tumor: a randomized clinical trial: Wei Xue
Technological innovation in laparoendoscopic single-site radical cystectomy: Tianxin Lin
The key points for the posterior urethral stricture surgery: Kunjie Wang
1200-1230 Session 3B: Treatment Strategy for transitional cell carcinoma of upper urinary tract
Moderator: Liping Xie, Xiaowen Sun
Panelists: Eddie Chan, Lixiong Zeng, Bing Li, Zhuowei Liu
Whether intravesical therapy is necessary after ureteronephrectomy: Haowen Jiang
Treatment strategy for recurrence at contralateral pelvis after one side ureteronephrectomy: radical ureteronephrectomy? Tumor resection with flexible ureteroscope? Follow-up and strategy to prevent recurrence: Rongpei Wu
Treatment strategy for recurrence at lower ureteral segment after one side ureteronephrectomy: Ben Liu
1230-1345 Lunch Time for Introductory Session by Participants (Finger food to be served)
1345-1415 Session 4 : ASU lecture
1345-1400 Who is my patient?: Michael Wong
1400-1415 Introduction of Translational Medicine-From Bench to Bedside: Allen Chiu
1415-1545 Session 5: Writing a scientific paper
1445-1515 IMRAD: Introduction and methods; Peggy Chu
1515-1545 IMRAD: Results and discussion; Kazutoshi Fujita
1545-1615 Scientific misconduct and how to avoid it: Rajeev Kumar
1545-1600 Tea Break
1600-1700 Session 6: Critical appraisal
1600-1615 What is critical appraisal? Rajeev Kumar
1615-1630 Critical appraisal of a scientific paper: Kazutoshi Fujita
1630-1645 How to develop a Urology Department: Allen Chiu
1645-1700 Q&A, Closure


ASU-UAA Youth Section Travel Grant Awardees 2015
1. Arun Jacob Philip George
Associate Professor
Christian Medical College, Vellore, India
2. Aung Khant
Specialist Registrar DSMA, Yangon, Myanamar
3. Bhupendra Pal Singh
Associate Professor
King George's Medical University, Lucknow, India
4. Bou Sopheap
Assistant Professor
Preah Kossamak Hospital, Cambodia
5. Brusabhanu Nayak
Assistant Professor
All India Institute Of Medical Sciences, New Delhi, India
6. Chih-Kai Yang
Taipei City Hospital, Zhong Xing Branch, Taiwan
7. Dipesh Gupta
Assistant Professor
Nepalgunj Medical College, Nepalgunj, Nepal
8. Duy Anh Tra
Binh Dan Hospital, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
9. Ghanshyam Sigdel
Associate Professor
Universal College Of Medical Sciences, Bhairahawa, Nepal
10. Humera Khan Baloch
Senior Registrar
Liaquat National Hospital, Karachi, Pakistan
11. Imran Memon
Assistant Professor
ISRA University Hospital, Hyderabad, Pakistan
12. Kashi Amirhossein
Clinical Fellow
Labbafinejad Hospital, Tehran, Iran
13. Kim Tae Hoen
Clinical Fellow
Samsung Medical Center, Seoul, Korea
14. Lai Wei-hong
Chimei Medical Center, Tainan, Taiwan
15. Mohammad Shahidul Islam
Assistant Professor
Rangpur Medical College, Bangladesh
16. Mohammed Monowar Ul Haque
Assistant Professor
Chittagong Medical College, Bangladesh
17. Niraj Kumar
Junior Consultant
VMMC & Safdarjang Hospital, New Delhi, India
18. Nuwan Premachandra
Genito-Urinary Teaching Hospital Batticaloa, Battaramulla, Sri Lanka
19. Patrick Joseph Matias
Urology Resident (MO III)
Philippine General Hospital, Philippines
20. Phuc Lien Le
University Of Medicine And Pharmacy, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
21. Poongkodi Nagappan
Department Of Urology, Selangor, Malaysia
22. Prem Pong Phimphilai
Staff Of Surgical Department
Kalasin Hospital,Bangkok, Thailand
23. Raguram Ganesamoni
Consultant Endourologist
Advanced Urology And Kidney Institute, Nagercoil, India
24. Sarhangnejad Reza
Tehran University of Medical Sciences, Iran
25. Shoji Kimura
Jikei University School of Medicine, Tokyo, Japan
26. Teck Meng Tham
Royal Perth Hospital, Johor Bahru, Malaysia
27. Thai Nguyen
University Of Medicine And Pharmacy, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
28. Tomoaki Terakawa
Assistant Professor
Kobe University Graduate School Of Medicine, Japan
29. Wei Li
Vice Professor
The People's Hospital of Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region, China
30. Wei-Ming Cheng
Taipei City Hospital, National Yang-Ming University, Taiwan
31. Wu Qing Hui
Associate Consultant
National University Hospital, Singapore
32. Yusuf Saifee
Assistant Professor
IKDRC-ITS, Ahmedabad, India


ASU-UAA Youth Section Resource Persons
1. Allen Chiu
Professor of Urology
School of Medicine, National Yang-Ming University, Taipei Medical University
Professor of EMBA and Department of Psychiatry, Cheng-chi University
Secretary General, UAA
2. Kazutoshi Fujita
Consultant Urologist
Osaka General Medical Center, Osaka, Japan
Managing Editor, International Journal of Urology
3. Michael Wong
Medical Director and Senior Urologist
The Urology, Fertility & Gynaecology Centre, Mount Elizabeth Hospital, Singapore
4. Peggy Sau-kwan Chu
Consultant Urologist
Department of Surgery, Tuen Mun Hospital, Hong Kong
Editorial Board Member, BJUI
5. Rajeev Kumar
Professor of Urology
All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi, India
Editor, Indian Journal of Urology
Chairman, UAA Youth Section
6. Shin Egawa
Senior Professor and Chairman of Urology
Jikei University School of Medicine, Tokyo, Japan
Director, Asian School of Urology